Martina Hund-Mejean Receives Prestigious Abbott Award for Exceptional Contributions to UVA Darden


Featured Alumni - Awards - Charles C. Abbott Award

Charles C. Abbott Award

The highest honor bestowed on a Darden graduate goes to those whose contributions of time, energy and talent are outstanding.

Hund-Mejean Receives Abbott Award for Contributions to UVA Darden.

The Charles C. Abbott Award is named in honor of the first dean of the University of Virginia Darden School of Business. The award is presented annually to a graduate of the Darden School or The Executive Program whose contributions of time, energy and talent are outstanding. The Alumni Association recognizes the recipient as an individual who:

  • Demonstrates a strong level of interest in and concern for Darden’s mission
  • Commits a generous amount of time, energy and funds to Darden
  • Brings initiative and persistence to projects and responsibilities
  • Is regarded by other stakeholders as an outstanding contributor

Please nominate a fellow alumna or alumnus by submitting this form. You will be asked to provide the nominee's name and an explanation of why you identify this person as a strong candidate for the award. Nominations for 2024 have closed. Please check back in November 2024 to submit nominations for 2025. The Abbott Award will be presented to the recipient during Darden Reunion week on 28 April 2024. Please direct your questions to the Office of Engagement at +1-434-243-8977 or

Past Recipients of the Charles C. Abbott Award

2024: Martina Hund-Mejean (MBA '88)

2023: Jim Cooper (MBA ’84)

2022: Lemuel E. Lewis (MBA ’72)

2021: George Tahija (MBA ’86)

2020: Thomas J. Baltimore Jr. (MBA ’91)

2019: Michael E. O'Neill (MBA ’74)

2018: Richard A. Mayo (MBA ’68)

2017: Frank M. Sands Sr. (MBA ’63) 

2016: Philip W. Knisely (MBA ’78)

2015: John R. Strangfeld Jr. (MBA ’77)

2014: Gary T. Jones (MBA ’74)

2013: Henry F. Skelsey (MBA ’84)

2012: E. Follin Smith (MBA ’85)

2011: John G. Macfarlane III (MBA ’79)

2010: Terrence D. Daniels (MBA ’70)

2009: Wallace Stettinius (MBA ’59)

2008: Donald M. Wilkinson (MBA ’66)

2007: Steven S. Reinemund (MBA ’78)

2006: H. Eugene Lockhart Jr. (MBA ’74)

2005: Thomas A. Saunders III (MBA ’67)

2004: Warren M. Thompson (MBA ’83)

2003: George A. L. David (MBA ’67)

2002: Beverley W. Armstrong (MBA ’66)

2001: Connee B. Sullivan (MBA ’82)

2000: George E. Barbee (MBA ’67)

1999: Martin L. Killgallon (MBA ’72)

1998: Frank E. Genovese (MBA ’74)

1997: Palmer P. Garson (MBA ’83)

1996: Lucien L. Bass III (MBA ’65) and R. Van Whisnand (MBA ’68)

1995: C. Ray Smith (MBA ’58)

1994: E. Thayer Bigelow (MBA ’67) and William H. Goodwin Jr. (MBA ’66)